www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

easy starter

3 posters

Go down

easy starter Empty easy starter

Post by geordie Thu Aug 09 2012, 21:31

Hi folks, I have a multitude of problems, not all mechanical, my grandson, 13yrs, is starting to take an interest in all things old (machinery etc)
I have a lister D project I bought it as a runner but right now health issues prevent me from doing anything heavy,
So, problem 1, I want to maintain his intereset with an easy to start stationary engine, meaning that if he cant start it maybe my wife can, but as I am fairly new to stationary engines myself I dont know what to look for, (most of my spanner work was on old cars, ( 1930 to 1960).
I need to buy a runner for the time being, any ideas,
problem 2, I really dont know where to start looking so any clues will be gratefully accepted, i,e what magazines, what venues or shows in the Yorkshire Durham areas?
Last problem is, I have about 3 weeks in which to get an engine as after that i am in hospital and will not be allowed to drive for the following 12 weeks if all goes well ( wife cant drive so I would like something I can mess with without much effort, cleaning etc but no lifting)
Thanks for taking the time to read this,
Best regards to all. George,

geordie
Born to be wild
Born to be wild

Back to top Go down

easy starter Empty Re: easy starter

Post by Guest Fri Aug 10 2012, 11:24