www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Lister v Bamford

+3
chrismac
Appletop
Frenner2011
7 posters

Go down

Lister v Bamford Empty Lister v Bamford

Post by Frenner2011 Fri Feb 12 2021, 10:27

Just about to start work on my recently acquired pair of engines, and I can't help but notice that the spare parts and general information regarding the Lister, far outstrips the same for the Bamford, is there an obvious reason why the lister is so much more popular? Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I am new to this and just wondered?

Frenner2011
Born to be wild
Born to be wild

Back to top Go down

Lister v Bamford Empty Re: Lister v Bamford

Post by Appletop Fri Feb 12 2021, 11:12

Simply put, everyone has a Lister! I'd have the Bamfords, lot better than a Lister and more fun trying to find any bits you might need. No fun in getting stuff "off the shelf" as it were.
Appletop
Appletop
Life Member
Life Member

Back to top Go down

Post by chrismac Fri Feb 12 2021, 12:27

Lister's certainly seem to have no end of manuals, parts for sale, Bamfords a little tricker to source parts and manuals but they will turn up eventually, what engines do you have out of interest?

Chris

chrismac
A true Stationary engine owner
A true Stationary engine owner

Back to top Go down

Post by maryalice Fri Feb 12 2021, 13:15

Appletop wrote:Simply put, everyone has a Lister! I'd have the Bamfords, lot better than a Lister and more fun trying to find any bits you might need. No fun in getting stuff "off the shelf" as it were.

Appletop,

You are so predictable.

Frenner