www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

villiers mark 10 not running

4 posters

Go down

villiers mark 10 not running Empty villiers mark 10 not running

Post by sparrow Tue Oct 14 2014, 17:09

Hi all, I've recently got a villiers mark 10 engine, but I can't get it to start. I am new to playing with engines, so I know very little! It has got a spark, and good compression. It also turns over quite well but I can't get it to run. Has anyone got any advice of what to try next? Also how do I check/reset the timing? Thanks in advance for any help!

sparrow
I really need to post more

Back to top Go down

villiers mark 10 not running Empty Re: villiers mark 10 not running

Post by Ally's_Engines Thu Oct 16 2014, 20:46

It might be a fuel problem you have, make sure that the spark plug is wet. If so, then it could possibly be a timing issue. On a Villiers Mk10, timing is quite easy all you need to do is unscrew the centre nut on the flywheel so it is free to move on the crankshaft. Move the flywheel until the points are just open and then tightly screw it back in and test that you're happy with the timing.

Hope that helps,
Alasdair

Ally's_Engines
Ally's_Engines
Born to be wild
Born to be wild

Back to top Go down

Post by kevjhnsn Thu Oct 16 2014, 23:45

hi there