www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

jap 2a timing and other questions

2 posters

Go down

jap 2a timing and other questions Empty jap 2a timing and other questions

Post by callum12 Tue Aug 12 2014, 01:23

hi all,
i've just been given a colwood model a motor hoe that has a jap 2a on it, this is my first time working on a small engine like this so i suspect there will be many for questions to come!
anyway, i've been inspecting the engine and in the process i have removed the magneto along with many other bits and bobs. now the time has come to rest the timing, how it this done? i have nipped up the nuts in the same position they where in before (i could tell via the ring of grime on the magneto backplate left by the washers) and the points open a few degrees BTDC. (the piston is about 4mm away from the top of the bore).

the engine was seized when i got it but all i had to do it fill the bore with a oil and paraffin mix, wait a bit the hit it with a resin hammer and wood. but now i have got a bore with a few scores and streaks of rust running down it. its obviously in need of a hone, my question is how do you hone a bore by hand as i don't have a drill hone and can i wire wool the rust off first and then hone it?

and finally, how do you remove the valves? i've heard that is a pain to do but i don't know how to go about it. at the moment i have zero compression!

thanks for any help,

regards,
callum Very Happy 
callum12
callum12
A credit to the forum
A credit to the forum

Back to top Go down

jap 2a timing and other questions Empty Re: jap 2a timing and other questions