www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

My Petter a1 project

4 posters

Go down

My Petter a1 project Empty My Petter a1 project

Post by Petter77 Tue Apr 05 2016, 20:00

Hi All, I am a newbie and have just joined the forum I am also new to the world of stationary engines and have recently purchased a Petter A1 Petrol/Paraffin single cylinder which I believe could date back to the late 1940s. Its on the verge of running but will not spark properly when the engine speed builds up, I believe this is down to the points/condenser which I will be replacing when funds allow.

My Petter a1 project Img_4813
My Petter a1 project Img_4812
My Petter a1 project Img_4810
My Petter a1 project Img_4811

Petter77
I really need to post more

Back to top Go down

My Petter a1 project Empty Re: My Petter a1 project

Post by tony RA Tue Apr 05 2016, 22:29

Hi Steve welcome to the Forum you/l enjoy it and find all the help and advice you need on here from a great group That Petter looks like a nice project Good luck

tony RA
A credit to the forum
A credit to the forum

Back to top Go down

Post by Woodsman Wed Apr 06 2016, 09:18

Hi Steve.
Welcome to the forum. As Tony says, a very friendly and helpful bunch here.
Finished our Petter A1 (petrol only) last year. As regards running - it could also be fuel issue, impulse sticking or even plug. I wouldn't lash out on new parts until you have cleaned everything up, checked points / plug gaps and isolated the problem. I notice you have replaced HT lead - did you use non-restive lead/plug?